Reflections on wax, polish and an apple from Fujisaki, Japan


I will not eat a polished apple from a grocery store because I know that someone somewhere  is making me pay for all that shine. I will not eat a polished apple from a grocery store because it looks like plastic. I don’t like the waxy shine the on apples in stores like Safeway because it just looks toxic. There is something wrong  (or so it seems to me)  if the shine on my apple looks  the same as that on a machine-waxed floor.

This creation is what you are most likely to encounter in your local chain supermarket.

The price of a shine: This pasty creation is what you are most likely to encounter in your local chain supermarket.

No, my apple of choice is a grimy looking creation from Fuji, and one that I find in funky ethnic markets that dot the down-town of my neck of the hood. I like them because they look real; as in apples that have just been plucked from a tree. Fuji apples are my favorite because they are crunchy and juicy and sure don’t look like plastic – which leads me to believe that the apple the Serpent gave to Eve must have been a pasty wax job from Safeway, Lucky’s or Nob Bill. Why, well because it just looks too blinged out and dressed up when it warn’t even Sunday.  I don’t know about you, but I just don’t trust this uber masquerade, even if some establishment scientists swear that it’s harmless coating made from natural stuff.

Apple oh grimy! The mighty Fuji apple of my dreams.

Apple oh grimy! The mighty Fuji of my Edenic dreams.

2 responses to “Reflections on wax, polish and an apple from Fujisaki, Japan

  1. Thank you for linking to my post on wax on fruits and veggies.

    “I forage for in funky ethnic markets that dot my neck of the hood” – I do the same thing occasionally.

    Asithi

    • You are very welcome. Your article seems to have been the only one on Google addressing the issue of waxing. Having content that unique is an an achievement, in and of itself. So I should be thanking you for putting it out there. And I would be remiss if I fail to point out how well you do write. There is a precision and lucidity to your style that is quite astonishing.

      The Editor – Cyberaxis
      (Remember the words of Chaim Bertman,
      “In the venom, is a whisper of the antidote.”)

Leave a Reply

